The Fabulous Baker Girl

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Great Grain Muffins March 14, 2009

Filed under: Baking From My Home to Yours,Dorie Greenspan,Muffins — amynb2008 @ 2:34 pm

 

Great Grains Muffin

Great Grains Muffin

I’ve been wanting some muffins.  Usually I  go for blueberry but since I have a new cookbook I figured I’d peruse it for a new recipe.  I came across the Great Grains Muffins.  These muffins contain three different grains and dried fruit so they seemed to have some measure of healthfulness.   The picture looked nice and I had all the ingredients, so I decided to give it a go.  My new friend, Dorie likes quartered prunes in these but as  I don’t generally have prunes just lying around I decided on a combination of dried blueberries and dried cranberries.  

 

These muffins are just slightly sweetened with both sugar and maple syrup.  I personally thought they needed a bit more sweetness.  But that’s just me.  The dried fruit really helped in that area, also offering a plump chewy texture that I really enjoyed.  The oatmeal in the muffin seems to disapppear but you can really detect the cornmeal, not so much in the flavor as in the texture.  It has a slightly cornbread-like texture, drier than most muffin but unpleasantly so.  The best part of these muffins were the crunchy edge around the top.  As with most muffins, you really need to eat these the same day they are made.  The texture dries out by the next day.  They are still edible, just not quite as nice.  Although I haven’t tried it, they might be nice the next day toasted a little bit with some butter spread on.  Dorie also suggests serving with cream cheese, jam, or cheddar cheese.  

All in all, while I wouldn’t call them my favorite, these easy-to-make muffins are a solid choice and a nice one to add to your repertiore.  Besides that…my kids liked them.   And if they like them, I’m pretty sure yours will too.  

 

Great Grains Muffins

from Baking From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan

1 cup all purpose flour

1/3 cup whole wheat flour

1/3 cup cornmeal

1/3 cup old-fashioned oatmeal

1/4 cup sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup buttermilk

1/3 cup maple syrup

2 large eggs

1 stick unsalted butter, melted and cooled

3/4 cup quartered, moist, plump prunes or other dried fruit and/or nuts

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Butter or spray a muffin tin (I used Pam spray for baking — love that!).  

In a large bowl, whish together the flours, cornmeal, oats, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  In a large glass measuring cup, whisk together the buttermilk, maple syrup, eggs, and melted butter.  Pour the liquid ingredients over the dry and gently, but quickly stir together.  Don’t worry about being thorough — if the batter is lumpy, that’s fine.  Stir in the fruit or nuts, if you are using them.  Divide batter evenly among the muffin cups.

Bake for 18-20 minutes or until the tops are gold and a thin knife inserted into the center of the muffins comes out clean.  Transfer the pan to a rack and cool for 5 minutes, then carefully lift each muffin out of its mold and onto the rack to cool.

 

Leave a Reply

