The Fabulous Baker Girl

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Granola Apple Breakfast Cookies March 29, 2009

Filed under: cookies — amynb2008 @ 3:32 pm
Tags: , , ,

What!  Cookies for dessert?  How can this be?  Cookies aren’t good for you and aren’t you supposed to start the day the healthy way?

My answer:  You can have your cookie…and eat it too!A Cookie Breakfast

A Cookie Breakfast

 

 

One morning my daughter got up and was getting ready for school.  When I asked her what she wanted for breakfast, she asked for a cookie, knowing full well that I’d say no.  Well…I said yes.  They were oatmeal-raisin made with whole wheat flour.  How bad could they be?

That is how this recipe came to be.  I used the recipe off the Quaker Oatmeal box as a base.  The biggest change I made was to substitute granola for the oats.  I wanted to give the cookie maximum flavor and I thought the granola would offer more punch than plain oats.  I used a homemade granola with no fruit.  Since the granola is sweetened, I didn’t use any of the white sugar the recipe called for.  I just used the brown sugar.  I also used whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose and added some ground flax seed.  I was worried they might turn out dry so I added a bit of unsweetened applesauce.  I added double the amount of cinnamon, again to boost flavor.  Lastly, since my girls don’t like raisins, I substituted finely chopped apples.

The result?   A very, nice, moist cookie.  I really liked the addition of the apples.  I cut them pretty finely so they almost disappeared, but they did offer a nice touch of sweetness.  Next time I might  cut them a little larger.   I didn’t find the cookies overly sweet and they were nicely spiced, even using double the cinnamon.  The only thing I didn’t like about this recipe is the amount fat I used.  It results in about 11 grams of fat per cookie.  Not so great, but what do you excpet.   These are still cookies.  The dough was very moist, so I’m thinking that loosing a couple of tablespoons of the butter might work.  The recipe below is my original, but the next time I try these I will decrease the butter.  

But what did everyone else think?  Well…my 4-year-old didn’t like the apples and asked for something else.  My 7-year-old said the cookies were “very good”.  My 1-year-old didn’t say anything.  She just ate it.  Later, when I was eating mine, she followed me around yelling, “Cookies!  Cookies!”  So I had to share.  They also seemed to be a hit with my husband, although he said he felt guilty eating cookies for breakfast.  Which is kind of the point.  Why not give your kids something fun for breakfast and let them think they are getting away with something naughty?  You know the truth!

Granola Apple Breakfast Cookies

Granola Apple Breakfast Cookies

 

 

Granola Apple Breakfast Cookies

Yield: 12

6 tablespoons butter

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup whole wheat pastry

1/4 cup ground flax seeds

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

a pinch of salt

2 cups lowfat granola without fruit

1/2 cup finely chopped apples

Cream together the butter, brown sugar, and maple syrup.  Beat in the egg and vanilla.

Whisk together the flour, flax seeds, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.  Stir into the buter mixture.

Stir in the granola and apples.

Using a 1 tablespoon scoop, scoop the dough onto a cookie sheet.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes.

*These cookies don’t spread very much, so if you want a bigger, flatter cookie, use a larger scoop and flatten slightly.  Watch your baking time.  

A cookie from 1 tablespoon of batter is 75 calories, 4 grams of fat, 1 gram of fiber, and 1.6 grams of protein.  Serve 2 of these cookies with fruit and milk for a complete breakfast.  Just keep in mind that they are still cookies.  🙂


 

3 Responses to “Granola Apple Breakfast Cookies”

  1. Michael Says:

    ooooo cookies for breakfast! Intriguing! I have got to try that.

  2. amynb2008 Says:

    I have updated this recipe from the original. This one is much better than the first. Keep in mind that these are still cookies with a few healthier ingredients. Hope you enjoy!


Leave a Reply

