The Fabulous Baker Girl

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Indian Fry Bread April 9, 2009

Filed under: Bread — amynb2008 @ 1:15 pm
Tags:

This week was Spring Break for my oldest daughter and I really wanted to do some baking with my girls.  It’s Thursday and we really haven’t done too much but we did manage to get in some Indian Fry Bread.  It’s not really a baked product.  It’s fried (hence the name, fry bread).  But really…who cares?cherry-pie-and-other-things-0541

I once had a recipe for fry bread that I used to use when I was teaching.  It fit nicely into my Michigan History unit.  Unfortunately, I don’t know where that is so I had to do a little searching.  I came across this recipe on recipe.suite.101.com.  I don’t know how authentic is it, but it’s easy to prepare and pretty darn good.   My girls loved it.  I believe one of their exact words were, “If I had to eat this every day, I would!!”  

I’d call that a success!

Basic Fry Bread Recipe

3 cups bread flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

4 ounces warm water

4 ounces warm milk

Oil for frying

Sift together the dry ingredients in a large bowl.  Add warm water and milk in small amounts and knead dough until soft but not sticky.  Adjust flour or water to achieve desired  consistency.  Divided into 8 equal pieces.  Flatten into thin rounds with your hands (I used a tortilla press).  Fill a cast iron skillet until it is about half full.  Fry dough until bubbles appear on the dough, turn over and fry on the other side unti golden.  This should take but a few minutes total.  Drain on a paper towel.  Serve hot.

I only filled the skillet  about 1/4 inch with oil.  I let it heat up until a small piece of bread turned golden brown when I put it in.  It only takes about a minute a side to cook.

 

One Response to “Indian Fry Bread”

  1. Shelly Says:

    Hi there! Popping by from Cafemom. I wish I were motivated to cook like this. Everything I try seems to flop. lol. It looks yummy though!


Leave a Reply

