The Fabulous Baker Girl

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chocolate-Strawberry Inspired Birthday Cake April 13, 2009

Filed under: Cakes — amynb2008 @ 8:38 pm
Tags:

We had Easter dinner at our house this year.  I was actually quite proud of myself.  Usually when we have company I get all panic-y trying to make everything perfect which makes me all pissy and stressed out.  It’s really not very pleasant for those lovely people I call my family.  This year, however, I only had one minor moment of freaking out.  This occured when my husband’s aunt told me she was bringing cake.  Cake?  Cake!  To my house?

Okay, seriously?  That’s like telling Bobby Flay you’ll be over to grill.  

So, I told her I would be making the cake.  And as luck would have, it was also my sister-in-law’s birthday.  Now, not only did I have to make a really good cake.  I had to make a really good birthday cake.  Ah…what to do?

I asked my sister-in-law what kind of cake she wanted.  The crazy chick told me she didn’t want too much chocolate!  Is there really such a thing?  

Alright, so she’s not so crazy.  She said she didn’t want too much.  So figured she wouldn’t mind some.  Right?

Since she said she’d like a yellow cake, I figured that was a good medium to get a little creative.  My original plan was to make a jelly roll filled with whipped cream and strawberries, so I stuck with that filling.  Now all I needed was a frosting and some interesting touches to jazz is up a bit.

So…here’s all that jazz.

First, I brushed the cakes with strawberry perserves.  I added a layer of chocolate ganache and topped that with the whipped mixed with fresh strawberries.  I frosted it with a simple butter cream and garnished with shaved chocolate and chocolate-dipped strawberries.

Viola!  Happy Birthday!

I am really proud of this cake.  It looked really beautiful and everyone told me it looked professional.  And…it was delicious as well.  I got lots of compliments.  I am really happy with how well this turned out.  Plus, it was nice to do something special for my sister-in-law — who deserves something special.

I hope that this teaches everyone to never even

Chocolate-Strawberry Inspired Cake

Chocolate-Strawberry Inspired Cake

 think about bringing a cake to my house.   Salad…maybe.  Cake…never!

A Look Inside

A Look Inside

 

One Response to “Chocolate-Strawberry Inspired Birthday Cake”

  1. Michael Says:

    Drooool


Leave a Reply

