The Fabulous Baker Girl

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Homemade Granola June 24, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — amynb2008 @ 3:32 pm

Last year I decided to give up all processed foods.  While I was really into it and fully behind the idea that fresh is best, it was a bit too time consuming for a mom of three.  Baking homemade bagels, hot dog buns, and yogurt was fun but not exactly convenient.  I still think fresh is best but there is something to be said for quick.

One thing that I haven’t given up making homemade is granola.  That’s mostly because I made one batch back in September and I just finished it off.  I’m the only one who really eats it so it lasts a long time.  I whipped up a batch this morning.  It’s in the oven toasting as I type.

The best part about granola is that you can add the ingredients that you like.  It’s completely flexible…not to mention delicious.  I love it over yogurt.  I got the original recipe from another blog called Tammy’s recipes (www.tammysrecipes.com).  I’ve adjusted it just a bit for my own taste.  While this isn’t exactly a baked good, it’s still a nice treat to have around.  I hope you enjoy.

Homemade Granola

6 cups rolled oats

1/2 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup wheat germ

3/4 cup coconut

1/4 cup flax seeds

1 cup slivered almonds (I also added some sunflower seeds that I had just a bit left of)

1/2 cup nonfat dry milk

2/3 cup honey

Scant 2/3 cup canola oil

2 tablespoons water

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

1 cup dried fruit (I usually don’t put in the fruit, but this time I used currents, golden raisins, and dried blueberries)

Preheat oven to 300 degrees

In a large bowl combine oats, sugar, wheat germ, coconut, flax seeds, almonds, and dry milk.

Pour in honey, oil, water, and vanilla.  Stir thoroughly.

Lightly spray two large, shallow baking sheets.  Divide granola among the pans.  Toast in oven for 30-45 minutes, stirring at least twice during cooking time.

Remove from oven and let cool for at least 15 minutes.  Stir.  Add dried fruit and stir again.

Store in a tightly sealed container.

 

Leave a Reply

