The Fabulous Baker Girl

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Baked Oatmeal June 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — amynb2008 @ 2:01 pm
Tags:

Ballooon Festival 2009 121It’s very unusual for me to make something and them post about it immediately.  I usually don’t have the time.  In fact, I’ve got pictures and pictures just waiting for me to blog about them.

Today, is an exception.

I am learning how to play guitar.  My teacher is the greatest.  He doesn’t expect too much of me but he also knows what I’m capable of.  The nicest thing about him, though, is that he seems interested in food and the things I bake.  Occasionally I’ll bring him a treat and in return, besides learning guitar, I get fun little tidbits of information about music, musicians, and the Buddhist origins of tea…quite interesting, but I’ll reserve it for another time.

Yesterday, he mentioned that he like oatmeal and a friend of his told him about baked oatmeal.  I had heard of this before but had never made it.  I was looking for something different — something that might sway my kids away from the Toaster Strudel (or snoodle, as they call it) that my husband bought them at the store.  I figured I’d give it a try.

I found this recipe online at about.com.  It comes from a “professional innkeeper”.   I chose it only because it was the easiest and took the least amount of time to cook.  Hey, when your a mother of three sometimes you need to lower your standards.

Luckily, this recipe turned out to be a gem.  It was just the right amount of sweet and had an interesting contrast of textures between the inside and the outside edges and bottom.  It tasted quite a lot like an oatmeal cookie only, in my opinion, even better.  I thought it was wonderfully delicious and I could definitely see this becoming a go t0 breakfast on cold winter mornings.  Or any morning, for that matter.

As for whether or not it distracted the girls from the Toaster Strudel.  In the spirit of being honest I have to say…heck no!  They are kids after all.  What kid would prefer oatmeal, baked or otherwise, over sweet, fattening, frozen pastry?  That said, my oldest said it was good and my youngest ate some.  Since she’s not quite two I take that as a success.  My middle one…well I’m lucky she eats at all so I wasn’t surprised she didn’t eat any.  She said her stomach hurt.  Likely story.

The recipe below is does have some modifications from the original.   I wanted to add a bit more nutrition by adding some ground flax seed.  I also added some cinnamon.  You can also add fruit and nuts.  I decided not too.  I figured the girls would take to it better for the first time without.  This is the full recipe but I halved it with no trouble at all.  Also, try baking in ramekins for individual portions.  I hope you enjoy!

Baked Oatmeal

3 cups oatmeal

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup melted butter

2 eggs, beaten

2 cups milk

1 teaspoon cinnamon

2 tablespoons ground flax seed

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

Mix all the ingredients together.  Pour into a greased 13 x 9-inch buttered pan.  Bake 375 degrees for 25 mintues.

Easy peasy

 

Leave a Reply

