The Fabulous Baker Girl

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Tuesdays with Dorie: Classic Banana Bundt Cake August 4, 2009

Solar oven and banana cake 017

Classic Bundt Cake with a drizzle of powdered sugar glaze

For those of you who don’t know, Dorie Greenspan is the author of Baking From My Home to Yours.  There is a group of organized bakers who choose recipes from the cookbook to try every week and then post about them on their blogs every week.  You can find them all at http://tuesdayswithdorie.wordpress.com/.  I recently noticed that they were accepting new members so I decided to ask if I could join.  I haven’t heard word back yet about whether or not I was accepted, but on the chance that I am, I baked up this weeks recipe:  classic banana bundt cake.

To be honest, I had mixed feelings about this recipe.  On one hand, I had a bunch of overripe bananas that were destined for the freezer if I didn’t use them.  Not mention, banana bread is one of my very favorite things in the entire world.  On the other hand, this was not banana bread and I’ve never really understood the idea of banana cake.  Like I said, I love banana bread especially all warm and oozing with melted butter but this doesn’t seem to pass as dessert.

In any case, I was still enthusiastic to give the recipe a try.  When I looked at it I was relieved to see it was quite simple to put together.  The perfect thing to whip up while my soup was cooking.  I was joined in the kitchen by Melanie, my 4-year-old.  She likes to help when I bake.  She was particularly intrigued when I told her what we were making, but then again she thought we were making “butt cake”.  I’m still laughing at that.

As I said, this recipe was easy to prepare.  The only problem I had was that I didn’t have a bundt pan so I used a regular cake pan.  I probably should have used two but it all turned out okay in the end.  I loved the banana smell that filled the house.  It’s such a warm and comforting smell.

Not surprisingly, my three girls didn’t want banana cake for dessert.  Nothing but ice cream for them.  However, after my little one was asleep and my oldest one was up reading with Dad, Melanie asked me if she could have a piece.  She said she had “forgotten” to brush her teeth so she could still eat something.  She sat on my lap and ate a slice.  It was a very big hit.  She made all the “MmMMMmmmmm!!!!” sounds you could imagine and said it was “Delicious!”.

I have to agree.  It was delicious.  Even without the proper pan, the cake baked up moist and surprisingly cake-like with a rich but not overpowering banana flavor.  It was just the right amount of sweet.  Even though Dorie says that it tastes better the next day, I ate two slice while still warm from the oven.  I’m not sure how it could get any better.  I guess I’ll have to wait until tomorrow to find out.

I’d have to say that this first Tuesday with Dorie was a success.

Although I do have to admit, to me, like I had predicted, this is much more of a snack cake.  You won’t find me serving this cake for dessert anytime soon but I think it may just find it’s way onto my breakfast table.  Or my snack plate.  Or my lunchbox.  Or…most notably, in my stomach.

 

4 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: Classic Banana Bundt Cake”

  1. Amanda Says:

    Welcome to TWD! Check the TWD site, pretty sure they posted about some new members, so you may be in there. We loved this cake and I will definitely be making it again. By request too!

    • amynb2008 Says:

      Thanks! I’m really excited to join everyone. Great cake! Even my oldest daughter liked it and she doesn’t like bananas (the only kid I know who doesn’t). I’ll check the site again. Thanks!

  2. Amanda Says:

    Hey Amy, just noticed after you posted on my blog that your blogger profile doesn’t include a link to your Word Press blog. You’ll get a lot more comments if you add your link in there! 🙂

  3. teaandscones Says:

    Butt cake!!! LOL Kids are just toooo cute. Mary had a little lamb, the police were white in snow. LOL

    But not laughing at your cake. It sounds/looks great. And you are on the list, so welcome to TWD.


Leave a Reply

