The Fabulous Baker Girl

Just another WordPress.com weblog

TWD: Applesauce Spice Bars August 18, 2009

If you have ever read any of my blog, you will know that fruit is not really my thing.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love a nice, crisp, coldrock cakes, baked eggs, and applesauce bars 011 apple or a juicy peach or plump, sweet grapes.  But fruit to me is…well…fruit.  It doesn’t belong in sweets.

Yet, time and time I seem to prove myself wrong.  Both banana bread and blueberry muffins are about as delicious as they come.  I was delighted with Nigella’s pineapple upside down cake and Dorie Greenspan’s apple crisp was fabulous.

And now Dorie has done it again.

This week Karen from Something Sweet by Karen (http://somethingsweetbykaren.wordpress.com/) chose Dorie’s Applesauce Spice Bars.  When I made them yesterday, I was feeling a little out of sorts.  I had just come home after being away for a few days so I guess I was just trying to get back in the swing of things.  I felt like I was trying to think of a hundred different things at the same time and not concentrating on any of them.  That was my state of mind as I approached this recipe.  The one day I needed chocolate I get stuck with apples.

Thank goodness it was so easy to prepare.  The hardest thing to was peel and chop the apple.  Which I forgot to do until I was ready to add it.  Oh well…no harm done.  I made myself follow the recipe to a T.  I’m not big on raisins but I added them anyway.  I used golden raisins which I find sweeter and nicer than regular ones.  I’m not a huge fan of nuts in baked goods like this but I put them in.  I’m not a drinker but I happened to have some rum on hand, which I added in lieu of the applejack (which I always figured was a cereal).

The batter for these bars is prepared in a saucepan after melted butter and brown sugar are mixed together.  I like that I didn’t need any special equipment, no electric mixer.  It was just me and the ingredients.  I started to relax a little.  After all how can melted butter and brown sugar be bad?

After the bars baked, I poured on the glaze (more melted butter, brown sugar, and, this time, cream) and waited for them to cool.  When it was time to make dinner, I snuck a bite.  They were still slightly warm but I discovered, to my delight, that they were pretty good.  After a few more minutes, I tried another bite.  They were really moist and good.  Before dinner was quite ready, I tried them again.  Wait a minute…I actually like these!  Before I knew it, I had nibbled away a whole end of the pan.  Luckily, it was the short end.  There aren’t a lot of raisins in so I hardly noticed them.  When I did, they just added a nice sweet plumpness.  The nuts were a nice contrast in texture that I didn’t mind a bit and you can’t taste the rum at all.

These are really a nice little snack bar — a great after school snack, or a sweet ending to lunch with friends, or a nice, light dessert after a heavy dinner served with a bit of vanilla ice cream.  I’d say these bars are a hit.  I guess I’m beginning to change my mind about fruit.  Maybe it can be a dessert.

Don’t get me wrong.  Chocolate will always reign supreme in my book, but a change can be nice too.

To view the recipe for Applesauce Spice Bars please visit Karen at http://somethingsweetbykaren.wordpress.com/.

 

2 Responses to “TWD: Applesauce Spice Bars”

  1. Lauryn Says:

    I agree, I thought these were incredible! So glad you enjoyed them! Desserts with fruit are amazing…sounds like you are coming over to the other side!! 🙂

  2. Margaret Says:

    Applejack a cereal!! LOL

    These were good. And good for you to follow to a T. They look great.


Leave a Reply

