The Fabulous Baker Girl

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Ode to Julia: Baked Eggs in Ramekins August 24, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — amynb2008 @ 1:57 am
Baked egg with cracked pepper and red sea salt

Baked egg with cracked pepper and red sea salt

I am so behind in my blogging.  I’ve got at least three recipes I should be blogging about but as I was looking through my pictures trying to decide what to write about, I kept coming back to these baked eggs.  They just look so beautiful.  If you truly eat with your eyes first, than this recipe is a feast.  It’s not really a baked good, but I think it warrants mention here anyway.

With the recent release of the movie Julie and Julia, I’m sure that there has been a rediscovery of French Cooking.  It is, after all, what drove me to pick up Julia’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking.  Well…that and the 40% off coupon.  I haven’t had time to make much out of it but the first recipe I made, the baked eggs in ramekins, is just a treasure.

I once saw Nigella make a simple soft-boiled egg.  If you had asked me before I saw that show, I would have told you I am not a big fan of eggs.  For some reason that egg she made looked so good that I gave it a try, as I had never had them before.  Low and behold…I fell in love.  Oh…a perfectly cooked soft-boiled egg with crisp whole wheat bread, it’s heaven!

Baked eggs are like soft-boiled eggs cooked out of the shell.  They are incredibly easy to make yet when they come out of the oven, there is a complexity to them that you don’t expect.  They are creamy and soft and unspeakably good.  I can’t even find words to explain.

Just trust me…You must try these.

Baked Eggs in Ramekins

Recipe from Julia Child but written in my words

Serving: 1

2 tablespoons cream

1-2 eggs

1/2 teaspoon of butter plus more for buttering ramekin

Boiling water

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Pour boiling water into a baking dish.  Set ramekin in the boiling water and add one tablespoon of cream.  When cream is warm, add the egg(s).  Top with the other tablespoon of cream and dot with butter.  Bake at 350 degrees for 7-10 minutes (it always takes me a little longer).  The toughest part of this recipe is knowing when the egg is done.  The white should be firm and the yolk thick.  It will continue to bake after you take if from the oven so be sure not to over bake.  It is a little hard to tell if they are done because of the cream but after making them once or twice, you’ll get the knack.

 

Leave a Reply

