The Fabulous Baker Girl

Just another WordPress.com weblog

TWD: The Lime Pie that had Better be Worth it! August 25, 2009

Lime Cream Pie before covering

Lime Cream Pie before covering

So this for this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie, Linda of Tender Crumb decided on Creamiest Lime Cream Meringue Pie.  After reading the recipe, I knew it was going to take some time to make.  I had planned to make it over the weekend, but that just didn’t pan out.

Instead, I made it yesterday and recruited the help of my daughter.  She loves to grate and juice.  This was the perfect recipe for her!  As she did that I made the graham cracker crust.  Things were cruising along and I figured this would be easier than I expected.

Ha!

I don’ t think I’ve ever been so frustrated trying to bake something in my life!

The recipe says that bringing the lime cream to temperature would take about 10 minutes.  Well…it took me more like an hour and it still didn’t come to 180 degrees.  Near the end it finally dawned on me that maybe, just maybe, there was something wrong with my thermometer.  I stuck it in a glass of ice water so I could calibrate it and, sure enough, the temp was way off — the wrong way.  So I thought my cream was at 150 degrees but it was actually at 145.

Ugh!!!!!

I finally just gave up and took it off the heat anyway.  By the time it had cooled slightly, it was so thick that I had to force it through the strainer to get rid of the lime zest.  I almost skipped that part.  I had a hard time incorporating the butter while blending.  By the time I was done, I had lime cream all over my my kitchen, on my shirt, and in my hair.  At this point I’m not sure why I’ve gone through all this trouble for something that isn’t chocolate.

Lime Cream Pie 015

I miss chocolate.

According to the recipe, the lime cream is supposed to be refrigerated for four hours before you put it in the pie crust and then another three hours after you add the meringue.  Seriously?  After all that work I have to wait?

I don’t think so.

Since my cream was so thick to begin with, I just added it straight to the crust and let it chill for awhile.  Then, since everyone was so anxious to eat it, I ended up adding whipped cream to it to cut the tartness instead of the meringue.

I know it’s not the exact recipe but by the end I was so exhausted (who knew standing at the stove constantly stirring for an hour could be so tiring?) that I am perfectly okay with that.  We all like fresh whipped cream better anyway.

As for whether or not this pie was worth it…well…it was good.  The texture was phenomenal.  So beautifully creamy — like butter (probably from the 2 1/2 sticks in the cream) — and perfectly tart.  I’m glad I took the trouble to strain the zest out because that would have ruined the lovely texture of the lime cream.  We all agreed that the whipped cream was a nice touch, adding a bit of sweetness to the whole thing.

I’m glad I made this pie.  I know my family enjoy trying new things and chocolate, as hard as it is for me to fathom, is not everyone’s favorite.   So, even though this wasn’t my particular favorite (still liked it though), it was worth it just to make my family happy.  If you are lime-lover, you’d be happy to make this too.  Just make sure your thermometer works.

To see the recipe for the Creamist Lime Cream Pie with Meringue, visit Linda at http://www.tendercrumb.blogspot.com/

Lime Cream Pie 016

 

Leave a Reply

