The Fabulous Baker Girl

Just another WordPress.com weblog

TWD: Flaky Apple Turnovers September 15, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — amynb2008 @ 2:42 pm

Melanie's first day of preschool 018I missed the last two weeks of Tuesdays with Dorie.  The first week was both  my daughter’s and my mom’s birthday and I already had plenty of baked goods.  The second week I was sick.  To tell you the truth, I almost skipped this one too.  I’m still not quite as energetic as I was before I was sick and I wasn’t sure I wanted to exert what energy I do have on apple turnovers.

Will I ever learn?

Grudgingly, since I had already missed two weeks and didn’t want to miss another, I set out to make these turnovers (chosen by Julie of Someone’s in the Kitchen).  I have to say this was the easiest pastry dough I have ever made.  It came together really easily and could be rolled out even after refrigeration.  It didn’t fall apart on me when I cut it out and filled it.  The filling was equally as easy.  It was simply diced apples (I used a mix of granny smith and fuji) with a little flour, sugar and cinnamon and then dotted with butter.

Once everything was together, I cut out the dough.  The recipe called for 4 1/2-inch circles but I didn’t have one that big so I used a 3 1/2 inch.  I actually quartered the recipe since I wasn’t sure anyone would like them.  I’m not really a pie eater and my husband doesn’t like apple pie.  I got nine turnovers out of the dough.  I could have gotten more had I rerolled the scraps but Norah had decided to “help” me and was playing with them.  It was just easier to let her than fight with her.

I used a scalloped-edged cutter and the turnovers turned out to be pretty half-moon shapes.  They smelled delicious as they baked and when I pulled them out of the oven, they were all puffy and golden brown.  After they cooled a bit, we all gave them a try.  I have to admit that they were delicious!  Even my husband like them.  He said they were “delightful, better than apple pie.”  Ella just ate them and said, “Mmmmm”.  Norah’s disappeared without me actually seeing her eat it, so I’m just assuming that’s a good sign.  Melanie’s on the other hand went nearly untouched.  Not surprising considering the source.  I don’t really count her in the success of a recipe anymore anyway.

These flakey apple turnovers lived up to their name.  The pastry was tender and flaky and exactly like I imagine good pastry should be.  The filling was nice and not overly spiced with cinnamon.  These are the perfect after-dinner treat or lunchbox dessert.  My only complaint was I wish the turnovers could hold more filling.  They felt mostly like pastry.  I’m filled them as full as I could but they still needed a bit more.  I also felt that it could have been a little more sweet — either the dough itself or the filling.  More filling might have helped with this though.

One of the best things about participating in Tuesdays with Dorie is that I get to try things I normally wouldn’t try.  I get to expand my horizons.  I never would have tried these turnovers on my own and that would have truly been a shame.  I’m already looking forward to making more.  Maybe even the whole recipe this time!

Good thing it’s apple season!

Note:  to view the complete recipe, please visit Julie from Someone’s in the Kitchen athttp://someonekitchen.blogspot.com/http://someonekitchen.blogspot.com/)

 

3 Responses to “TWD: Flaky Apple Turnovers”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Sorry about the pictures. Im glad you baked along with us this week. I enjoyed this recipe and my kids devoured the turnovers!

  2. Margaret Says:

    First: I hope you are feeling better now.

    Second: The turnovers look great. They were pretty easy weren’t they?

  3. Jeannette Says:

    i think they are beautiful.

    hope you feel better!!


Leave a Reply

