The Fabulous Baker Girl

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sugared Pecans, Big News, and a Reminder October 12, 2009

Filed under: Snacks,Uncategorized — amynb2008 @ 8:33 pm

Apple Orchard 2009 095For a while now, I have been considering including different recipes other than baking ones here on The Fabulous Baker Girl.  The biggest reason for this is that it will enable me to post here more often.  As much as I love to bake, I just can’t do it every single day or all I’d ever eat is baked goods.  Now that I say it, that wouldn’t bother me in the least, but I think  my waistline might suffer.

Like it isn’t already.

I’ve come up with a great idea though.  Upon looking at my vast cookbook collection, I have decided to try at least one new recipe from each of my books each week.  Now if I used all of my books, it would take me about 10 years to finish so I decided to use only the books that are currently on my bookshelf and those I might get after this day.  That said, it will still take me two years to cook just one recipe from each of the 104 cookbooks on my shelf each week.

In honor of Breast Cancer Awareness month, to get us started I chose a recipe from a cookbook I got over the weekend.  The book is called Recipes for Hope Cookbook, Tasty Recipes from our Home to Yours. All proceeds from the sales of this book will go to benefit breast cancer awareness and research at the Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute.   It is available at local (local to me, anyway) Kroger stores for $9.99.  If you happen by Kroger and see one, pick one up.  Pick up two and three and share with a friend!

I found several good sounding recipes to try, but I couldn’t narrow it down to just one.  I decided to leave it to chance and made Howie pick a number between one and 133 (the number of pages in the book).  He chose 121.  I turned to page 121 and found recipes for homemade marshmallows and sugar-coated pecans.  Hmmm….still a tough choice.  Neither were exactly the type of recipe I had wanted to kick off this new project, but I was committed to whatever page Howie had given me.  And he gave me page 121…homemade marshmallows or sugar-coated pecans.  I decided on the sugar-coated pecans.

This is an incredibly simple recipe.  I mixed it all together in about three or four minutes (although is seemed longer since a small war was raging over whether or not we would soon be watching Yo Gabba Gabba or Maggie and the Ferocious Beast).  It does take an hour to bake but the actual work part is nothing.  The result is crispy, almost airy nuts that are sweet and lightly spiced.  These would make great holiday gifts or a nice addition to a holiday buffet.  You could even play around with the spices for another version.  I’m thinking chili and cumin…I definitely think these are worth the minimal effort!

By the way…keep your eyes open.  You may just see these treats resurface later in the week!

I promised you some big news so here it is.  The Fabulous Baker Girl will soon be moving!  I have gotten my own domain name and pretty soon you’ll be able to find me at http://www.thefabulousbakergirl.com.  I am so excited about this move and I hope you’ll visit me there often.  I’ll let you all know when the big  move will happen so keep watching!

And now for the reminder.  As I said earlier, it is Breast Cancer Awareness month so ladies…don’t forget to check yourself out!  And gentleman, be sure to remind the women you love.  If you are over 40, schedule a mammogram today. Breast cancer is best treated with early prevention.  So go on…prevent!

And go nuts…or at least eat some!

Sugar-Coated Pecans

1 egg white

1 tablespoon water

1 pound pecan halves

1 cup white sugar

3/4 teaspoon salt (I forgot to add the salt and they are still yummy!)

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 250 degrees.  Grease a baking sheet.  In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the egg white and water until frothy.  In another large bowl, mix together the sugar, salt, and cinnamon.

Add the pecans to the egg whites.  Stir to coat.  Remove the nuts and toss them in the sugar mixture until coated.  Spread the nuts out on the prepared baking sheet.  Bake for one hour, stirring every 15 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

